Each diamond is a unique masterpiece of nature, a gem that contains unparalleled charm and beauty. Like human fingerprints, each diamond has distinctive characteristics that determine its value and uniqueness. The 4Cs - Color, Clarity, Cut and Carat - are the globally recognized standards for evaluating the quality of a diamond.


The diamond, whose name derives from the Greek "Adamas", which means indomitable, is born from the transformation of carbon, which occurs thanks to the intense temperatures and pressures sustained in the depths of the Earth. Propelled to the Earth's surface by volcanic eruptions, diamonds are found within kimberlite rocks formed from solidified lava.

Colorless in its purest form, diamond has a high refractive power, giving the impression of shining with its own light. It is the hardest and most resistant material in the world, a symbol of strength, incorruptibility and perfection.

In ancient times, diamond was believed to bring luck, power, wealth, love and health to its wearer. Over the centuries, diamonds have become the ultimate gift of love, a symbol of eternal love and lasting affection.


Cutting a diamond is an art that reveals and enhances the beauty of the gem. The quality of the cut affects the brightness, color dispersion and scintillation of the stone.

Classified into five grades - from excellent to poor - cut is the most important criterion in evaluating a diamond. A well-cut diamond reflects light internally from one face to the other and then disperses it through the crown of the stone.

Two diamonds may share clarity, color, and carat weight, but the cut is what determines whether one diamond is superior to the others. The cut of the diamond is influenced by three fundamental factors:

Cutting precision: the dimensions and angles that define the different parts of the stone.

Symmetry: The alignment and accurate intersection of the diamond's facets.

Polish : The details and placement of the facets, along with the external finish of the diamond.


Diamond cuts are a true art that gives each precious stone a unique personality. There are three main categories of cut: the brilliant cut, the stepped cut and the mixed cut. Each of them gives the diamond a distinctive appearance and a characteristic sparkle.

The brilliant cut is the most loved and widespread, with its triangular and rhomboidal facets that intersect harmoniously. This cut maximizes the refraction of light and gives the diamond a beautiful sparkling effect. And it is not only round diamonds that adopt this brilliant cut, but also shapes such as cushion, oval, marquise, teardrop and heart. Each stone reflects light in a unique way, giving a breathtaking brightness.

The stepped cut , on the other hand, is characterized by the trapezoidal facets arranged parallel to the belt of the diamond. This cut highlights the color and purity of the stone, offering a sophisticated and linear look. The most famous stepped cut is certainly the emerald, with its enchanting shades of green that shine through the stepped facets.

The mixed cut is a combination of elements of the brilliant cut and the stepped cut, creating a unique and fascinating effect. Cuts such as princess, radiant and asscher feature a combination of facets that accentuate both the brilliance and clarity of the diamond. This type of cut adds a touch of originality and modernity to the stone.

Choosing the right cut for the diamond is essential to enhance its beauty and value. Each cut has the power to transform the stone into an authentic work of art, capturing the light and giving a unique shine. Whether you prefer a brilliant, stepped or mixed cut, the diamond will always be a precious and fascinating jewel to admire.


The color of colorless diamonds is a characteristic of great importance. While most colorless diamonds have a slight natural yellow hue, truly "colorless" ones are extremely rare and valuable. The color gradation scale, used in the industry, goes from "D" (colorless) to "Z" (light yellow), assigning each diamond a specific position based on its shade.

According to industry standards, each diamond is graded on a precise scale of reference and given a color grade in the following scale:

DEF: Colorless

GHIJ: Almost colorless

KLM: Pale yellow

NOPQR: Very light yellow

STUVWXYZ: Light yellow

Color gradation is the second most relevant factor of the 4Cs as it greatly influences the appearance of the diamond. Diamonds with a lower color grade may appear slightly yellow rather than the desired brilliant white. Furthermore, it is also important to consider the fluorescence of the diamond: stones with strong or excessive fluorescence can give rise to a milky appearance when exposed to natural light.

The choice of diamond color depends on personal preferences and the desired visual effect. It is always advisable to consult an expert to get an accurate color assessment and make an informed choice when purchasing a diamond.


The clarity of diamonds reveals the presence of small imperfections called inclusions, which can be crystals, clouds or feathers. Inclusions are internal defects that can affect the clarity and brightness of the diamond. Evaluating purity requires careful observation and the use of a magnifying glass. Here is an overview of the different clarity grades of diamonds:

FL diamonds: Free from internal imperfections.

IF Diamonds: Without internal defects visible to the naked eye.

VVS1 and VVS2 diamonds: Very very small inclusions, difficult to spot even with a magnifying glass.

VS1 and VS2 diamonds : Very small inclusions, visible only with a high-power magnifying glass.

SI1 and SI2 diamonds: Small inclusions, visible with a magnifying glass.

I1, I2, I3 Diamonds: They have inclusions visible to the naked eye, which can affect the brightness and beauty of the stone.

It should be borne in mind that a diamond with a low degree of clarity may appear opaque due to inclusions that prevent the refraction and reflection of light. The choice of diamond clarity depends on personal preferences and available budget.


Carat is the unit of measurement that determines the weight of a diamond. One carat corresponds to 200 milligrams of weight, and is divided into points, where 100 points equal one carat. The carat weight of a diamond is a key factor influencing its economic value.

It is important to note that the weight of a diamond is not the only factor that determines its value. Carat weight must be considered in conjunction with the cut quality, color and clarity of the diamond to have a complete assessment of its beauty and value.

Higher carat diamonds are generally rarer and more valuable than those of lower weight. The size of a diamond can have a significant impact on its price, as larger diamonds are rarer and require more mining effort.

However, it is important to note that the value of a diamond does not increase proportionally to its weight. Other factors, such as cut quality, color and clarity, also affect the overall value of a diamond. Therefore, it is possible to find diamonds of different carats with varying prices based on their specific characteristics.

The choice of carat depends on personal taste, budget and individual preferences. It is important to find a balance between the desired carat weight and the other qualities of the diamond to get the best value for money and the stone that meets your needs.

In conclusion, carat weight is a fundamental element to consider when evaluating a diamond, as it affects its economic value and size. However, it is essential to evaluate carat alongside other factors, such as cut, color and clarity, to fully appreciate the beauty and uniqueness of a diamond.